The 7 Chakras


A quick note from Inge before we get into the juicy material of the chakras:

Inge PictureI’m on a mission to help personal growth enthusiasts learn about the power of the chakras. Here, you’ll learn the basics. You’ll learn what the chakras are, how many there are, what they’re related to and what theme each of them governs.

Learning that my body, mind, emotions & spirit were all connected and organized through the chakras has radically changed my world view and my life for the better. Hopefully, you’ll find some wisdom here too.

To take you more in depth, I will be hosting a series of masterclasses in the next few weeks: (Saturday, December 15 at 12:30pm | Friday, December 20, 5:30pm | December 28, 4pm) Click here to register.



What Are Chakras?

Chakras are wheels of energy, spinning in and around the body. They interact with the body, emotions, mind & spirit. And the rest of our lives.

Chakras are energetic structures organizing the information that is you.

Each chakra has its own theme & organizes the information pertaining to that theme (much like a computer).

As you go through life, your chakras contain and integrate the learning and self-programming you do.

The Root Chakra: The First Chakra on our Journey Up:

The Basics for the root chakra:

Location: The root chakra flows out of the perineum, through the legs and feet into the earth.

Colour: Red or Brown-Red.

Basic Right: Right to be here & Right to have.

Body parts associated: Bones, skeletal structure, rectum, coccyx, perineum, legs, feet, urethra, urinary bladder, genitals, adrenal glands, adrenal cortex.

Summary of the root chakra:

The Root Chakra is our ground, energetically speaking.

It’s our foundation, our ability to stand on our two feet.
It governs our ability to survive and to feel safe in the physical world.

Because the root chakra is developed in early infancy, it is formed first. It contains all the information in those early months where the challenge is to be here, as a physical being. As a physical being, we experience hunger, discomfort and pain. The questions we answer are: ” Is this a safe place?” “Am I welcome here?” Everything in our surroundings pertaining to these questions gets stored in the root chakra.

As we grow older, this sense of security manifests in the way we take care of ourselves. It plays out in our relationships with food, with shelter, with money – the things we need to survive.

Want to learn more? Click here to register to the webinar on December 7!

The Sacral Chakra: The Second Chakra

The Basics for the sacral chakra

Other Names: Second Chakra, Orange Chakra, Sacral Chakra, Svadhishthana Chakra.

Location: 1 – 3 inches below the navel.

Color: Orange.

Element: Water.

Basic Right: The Right to Feel & The Right to Want.

Body Parts Associated: lower abdomen, sexual organs/reproductive system, hips, pelvic area, lower back, kidneys, bladder.

Summary of the sacral chakra

The sacral chakra connects us to the flow of life. It dictates how comfortable we are with inevitable change and how much pleasure we have in living. Emotions, sexuality, creativity, & flexibility are all reigned by our second chakra.

Want to learn more? Click here to register to the webinar on December 7!

 The Solar Plexus Chakra: The Third Chakra

Solar Plexus Chakra | Reiki Montreal

The Basics for the Solar Plexus Chakra

Other Names: Manipura Chakra, Third Chakra, Fire Chakra, Yellow Chakra, Solar Plexus Chakra.

Location: Above the navel, below the diaphragm.

Color: Yellow.

Element: Fire.

Basic Right: The Right to Act.

Body Parts Associated: Digestive System: stomach, liver, small intestine; Muscles;

Summary for the Solar Plexus Chakra

The Solar Plexus Chakra governs your ability to get from a point A to a point B with gusto. It’s your center of confidence, vitality, will-power & direction. With a healthy third chakra, you get your projects done, you enjoy challenges and you generally have a lot of energy. You exert control on your environment, but you also know when to let go.

It develops with the terrible twos, when you discover how much power you have and that you can manipulate your environment to obtain what you want.

Want to learn more? Click here to register to the webinar on December 7!

 The Heart Chakra: The Fourth Chakra

Heart Chakra | Reiki Montreal

The Basics for the Heart Chakra

Other Names: Anahata chakra, Green Chakra, Acceptance Chakra, Heart Chakra, Fourth Chakra.

Location: In the middle of the chest.

Color: Green.

Element: Air.

Basic Right: The Right to Connect.

Body Parts Associated: Circulatory system, heart, lungs, shoulders, arms, hands.

Summary for the Heart Chakra

The heart chakra is your center of acceptance. It’s the middle chakra and integrates your more human concerns (Chakras 1, 2 & 3) with your spiritual concerns (Chakras 5, 6 & 7). It is a center for healing and integration. When it’s healthy, you enjoy your relationships with others. There is a balanced give and take. You protect your limits, but are also able to open up and be vulnerable with people you trust.

The heart chakra recognizes the perfection in all things and is full of an all-encompassing, compassionate love.

Want to learn more? Click here to register to the webinar on December 7!

 The Throat Chakra: The Fifth Chakra

Throat Chakra | Reiki Montreal

The Basics for the Throat Chakra

Other Names: Visuddhi chakra, Fifth Chakra, Throat Chakra.

Location: Throat & Neck.

Color: Blue.

Element: Sound.

Basic Right: The Right to Speak.

Body Parts Associated: Throat,  Vocal Cords, Thyroid, Neck, Mouth, Jaw, Ears.

Summary for the Throat Chakra

The throat chakra governs your ability to express. It is the bridge between your inner world and the outer world. When the throat chakra is balanced, you express who you truly are in all your thoughts, words, and actions. You are able to be in the flow of life, expressing your needs and wants and interacting creatively with the world.

Want to learn more? Click here to register to the webinar on December 7!

 The Third Eye Chakra: The Sixth Chakra

Third Eye Chakra | Reiki Montreal

The Basics for the Third Eye Chakra

Other Names: Ajna chakra.

Location: In the forehead, between the two eyes

Color: Indigo.

Element: Light.

Basic Right: The Right to See.

Body Parts Associated: Brain, eyes, pituitary & pineal glands, nervous system.

Summary for the Third Eye Chakra

The third eye chakra governs your ability to perceive accurately: Do you see what’s truly there or are you interpreting it through your own filters?

When it is balanced, you are both grounded and connected to your intuition, perceiving accurately.  Your mind is frequently clear and you are also able to imagine things differently than they are.

Want to learn more? Click here to register to the webinar on December 7!

 The Crown Chakra: The Seventh Chakra

Crown Chakra | Reiki Montreal

The Basics for the Crown Chakra

Other Names: Sahasrāra Chakra, Seventh Chakra, Crown Chakra.

Location: Right above the head, coming into the head through the top.

Color: White or Purple.

Element: Consciousness.

Basic Right: The Right to Understand.

Body Parts Associated: Pituatary & Pineal Glands, Brain.

Summary for the Crown Chakra

The crown chakra governs your ability to be connected to something bigger than you – God, the Universe, Allah, Source, whatever you’d like to call it – but also each other and higher concepts.

When the crown chakra is balanced, you are able to trust life, doing your part, and leaving the rest up to the divine. You are easily able to grasp the bigger picture, and have a sense of understanding of the world around you. Essentially, you are connected to the wisest you.

Want to learn more? Click here to register to the webinar on December 7!

Comments are closed.

Powered by WordPress. Designed by WooThemes